Challenges & Reality

Photography by Maher Attar for Education Above All FoundationEAC-Primary Logo

 

Extracts of introductions :

 

“From the syrian refugee camps to the slums of Bangladesh, from the rainforests of Amazonia to the plains of the Masai Mara, I have seen the difference education makes. Opportunities to learn can take many forms. These images capture children across the world studying under the shade of trees, crammed into small rooms in someone’s house, or inside tents in refugee camps. Yet for these children and their families, these opportunities to learn – even in the most imperfect circumstances – represent their best chance to escape poverty and hardship. (…) But for 58 million, it is a right denied.”

Her Highness Sheikha Moza Bint Nasser
Founder & Chairperson of Education Above All Foundation

 

“In pictures and words, the Cradle of inequality by Sebastião Salgado and Cristovam Buarque had captured a cycle of exclusion that all too often begins at birth. With his lens that leaves no truth unturned, Maher Attar has taken on that torch, travelling across Asia, Africa and Latin America to meet young boys and girls on their home ground and in their “schools.” There may be little light, not enough books or places on the bench, but the students portrayed here are tidy, attentive and eager, learning from dedicated teachers fulfilling their mission in extreme conditions. across his journey, Maher captures camaraderie and solitude, resilience and innate curiosity.”

Irina Bokova
Director-General of Unesco

 

“This book is a photographic narrative that captures the barriers to education in ten countries and the sometimes wonderful and often harrowing journeys of children in pursuit of education from different corners of the globe. (…) The names and faces from Challenges and Reality can be haunting but they can also inspire us to empower boys and girls around the world and give them an opportunity for a brighter future through education.”

Marcio Barbosa
CEO of Education Above All Foundation

 

 

Editions Art&Privilège
Publication date : September 2015
Leather bound under jacket260 mm (width) x 300 mm (heigth)
264 pages
ISBN-13 : 978-9953-485-06-5

Trilingual edition: English/Arabic/French

Edition of  2 000 copies

Challenges & Reality

Photographies par Maher Attar pour la Fondation Education Above AllEAC-Primary Logo

 

Extraits des introductions :

« Des camps de réfugiés syriens jusqu’aux bidonvilles de Bangladesh, de la forêt tropicale d’Amazonie jusqu’aux plaines du Masaï Mara, j’ai pu observer la différence que fait l’éducation. Les possibilités d’enseignement peuvent prendre diverses formes. Les images de ce livre témoignent d’enfants à travers le monde apprenant aussi bien à l’ombre des arbres qu’entassés dans de petites pièces chez l’habitant ou sous les tentes de camps de réfugiés. Pourtant, pour ces enfants et leur famille, l’accès à l’éducation – même dans les conditions les plus imparfaites – constitue leur meilleure chance d’échapper à la pauvreté et à la misère. (…) Or, 58 millions d’enfants n’y ont pas accès. »

Son Altesse Sheikha Moza Bint Nasser
Fondatrice et Présidente de la Fondation Education Above All
 
  

« Le livre puis le film de Sebastião Salgado et Cristovam Buarque, intitulé Le Berceau de l’Inégalité avait capturé en images et en mots, le cycle d’exclusion qui commence trop souvent dès la naissance. Le photographe Maher Attar a repris le flambeau, en voyageant à travers l’Asie, l’Afrique et l’Amérique latine pour rencontrer des jeunes garçons et des jeunes filles dans leur environnement, à la maison et à l’école. il y a parfois peu de lumière, trop peu de livres et pas assez de chaises, mais les étudiants témoignent sur chaque photo d’une détermination farouche d’apprendre, face à des enseignants dévoués à remplir leur mission dans des conditions extrêmes. Le voyage de Maher Attar est un voyage de solidarité, de résilience et de curiosité innée. »

Irina Bokova
Directrice Générale de l’Unesco
 
 
 

« Ce livre est un récit photographique illustrant les obstacles à l’éducation dans dix pays du monde et le chemin parfois magnifique et souvent difficile des enfants assoiffés d’éducation aux quatre coins de la planète. (…)  Les noms et les visages de Challenges and Reality peuvent nous hanter, mais aussi nous encourager à donner les moyens aux garçons et aux filles du monde entier d’accéder à un avenir meilleur, par le biais de l’éducation. »

Marcio Barbosa
Directeur de la Fondation Education Above All

 

 

Editions Art&Privilège
Date de publication : septembre 2015
Relié cuir sous jaquette
260 mm (largeur) x 300 mm (hauteur)
264 pages
ISBN-13 : 978-9953-485-06-5

Edition trilingue: Anglais/Arabe/Français

Tirage à 2 000 exemplaires